Darley Dale Town Council

Serving the people of Darley Dale

Town Clerk: Sian Bacon
The Whitworth Centre, Station
Road, Darley Dale, Matlock
Derbyshire DE4 2EQ

Tel: 01629 735 248

Darley Dale Town Council was formed in 1980 and consists of 12 councillors - seven covering the North Ward and five covering the South Ward. Meetings are normally held on the third Thursday of each month at 7pm (except August) at The Whitworth Centre, Darley Dale. A period of 10 minutes at the start and end of meetings is allowed for members of the public to raise issues with the Town Council.

Who we are & what we do

Darley Dale Town Council Crest

The Town Council consists of 12 elected councillors who serve for a four year term. All Councillors are voluntary and receive no payment whatsoever.

The Clerk's Office is located at the Whitworth Centre, Station Road, Darley Dale, DE4 2EQ.

Council Meetings are normally held on the 3rd Thursday of each month, except August - see the diary of meetings for more information.

Darley Dale lies in the Derwent Valley in Derbyshire. It is situated in the heart of the UK, 20 miles north of the city of Derby, on the border of the Peak District National Park between Matlock and Bakewell.

It is twinned with Onzain, a small semi-rural town in the Loire Valley, France. visit the twinning website here

For further information relating to the services offered by the Town Council please contact the Town Clerk who will be happy to give advice and assistance.


Darley Dale is twinned with Onzain, a small semi-rural town in the Loire Valley, France.

The twinning association is open to all, residents from in and around Darley Dale are very welcome to join.

Visit the Darley Dale twinning website here


Our Councillors are elected or co-opted, if you would like to become a Councillor or find out more about what they do then please read the below and if you are interested , please write to the Town Clerk giving some details about yourself and what you could bring to the Council.


Our committees have specific tasks and can have delegated powers.

Darley Dale Town Council Standing Orders

Darley Dale Financial Regulations

Complaints Procedure

Please see below for the Complaints Procedure that will be followed in case of complaints regarding the Council, Clerk or Councillors.

  • Complaints Procedure (PDF, 359 Kb)

    Complaints Procedure Approved at the Full Council Meeting on Thursday 17th October 2019.


Grants are made under S137 Local government Act 1972 to local voluntary groups and charitable organisations where the use can be shown to be of benefit to Darley Dale or residents of Darley Dale.

The Council's Finance and General Purpose Committee consider applications for grant award funding at their monthly meetings with an allocated budget of £4000 to spend throughout the year.

For further information please contact the Town Clerk or fill in the form below and return it with all the information requested.

Our Staff

The Town Clerk, Sian Bacon is based at the Whitworth Centre, Darley Dale. Her normal days of work are Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays

She is available on a drop in basis on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday between 9.00 and 13.00 to answer queries in person, alternatively either email the townclerk@darleydale.gov.k or telephone on 01629 735248.

Sian Bacon

Town Clerk

01629 735248

Councillor Jason Atkin

Derwent Valley Division
Derbyshire County Council